Review – Nutchello Dairy Free Milks by Silk

PhotoGrid_1462998601285 (1)

I like finding dairy free products that taste yummy and don’t make me sick. I saw these two yummy looking drinks from Silk and decided to give them a try. I had both good and bad results. The Rich Dark Chocolate and Walnuts was the one I wanted to like the most. I love chocolate and finding a dark chocolate drink that tastes good is amazing! The taste was really good, but sadly it made me super ill. I am not sure what’s in the chocolate version but it did not settle well with my stomach. I don’t see gluten free labels on either so I have no idea if that is the cause or something else. I tried it on two different occasions and both times I was super ill with massive stomach pains. The alkali processed chocolate might be the culprit. There weren’t a lot of ingredient differences between the two products.

PhotoGrid_1462998635929 (1)

The good news is that the Caramel Almonds and Cashews did not make me ill. It has a good flavor, though very mild. I’ve added it to homemade ice cream as well as coffee, and had it by itself. All of them were very tasty! My family enjoyed it used in my homemade ice cream with pineapple.

The moral of the story is that 2 different products made in the same line by the same company may give you a different reaction. Please be aware that one product made by a company might not make you sick but another might. And even if a product says gluten free or dairy free, it might still make you sick. Cross contamination or other ingredients might cause you to get sick. If you have food allergies or intolerances, test out a small amount of a new food or drink first to see how you react to it. Better safe than sorry!

cooltext177153714075149

Leave a Reply

