Glutino Favorite Sandwich Bread Review

glutino bread image

Image from Amazon.com

I am always on the lookout for really yummy gluten free bread because that seems to be one of the hardest things to find that taste really good. I have tried a lot of pre-made breads but I have an issue with the fact that you get half a loaf and they charge you $6 for it! I decided to try a couple of bread mixes instead and see if they were work the cost. I was really excited by the fact that I’d get a decent size loaf if I was lucky.

I tried Glutino Favorite Sandwich Bread today. The process to make it was very simple, though I did change the recipe a little. Instead of 2 eggs I used 3, and I added an extra couple tablespoons of butter, hoping that they would add more flavor. Gluten free bread is known for it’s bland and cardboard like taste. Often they are super dry as well. I added 1/4 cup of ground flaxseed to our mix as well, for extra nutritional value and digestion ease. And lastly, I let the yeast packet activate in the milk for 10 minutes before adding it to the mix. I always activate my yeast first, even when the recipe says not to. I feel I get better baked goods that way. I heated the milk for the recipe up enough for my yeast to activate in. Other than those changes I left the recipe as listed on the box.

glutino bread 3

I let the bread sit on my warm stove for closer to an hour instead of their suggested 30 minutes, so it would have a chance to rise really well. I had to bake mine for 40 minutes, the last 10 minutes was done with foil over the top to keep it from getting super brown. It turned out very pretty!

glutino bread 1

I made this loaf especially for making sandwiches because we had leftover chicken from last night’s dinner, and I had my appetite set on chicken sandwiches for lunch today. When I tried a piece of it plain, I found it to still be lacking in some flavor. I don’t know what exactly could be added to give it more flavor, but it is definitely something you could experiment with!

glutino bread 2

For sandwiches it worked pretty well. My whole family enjoyed the flavor and had no hesitation with eating their sandwiches. (^.^) It also held up really well, it didn’t crumble or fall apart, and it stayed very moist which I was very surprised at. A lot of pre-made breads are very dry and fall apart, and they taste super dry. That is not appetizing.

I am excited to see how the bread holds up over the week. As with anything you make yourself, it will likely go bad quicker so you will need to eat it right away or store it in the freezer. I’m planning to try this bread toasted with jam, and possibly as french toast if there is any left by the weekend! Mr. Divine really liked it as a sandwich bread so I may treat him to sandwiches to take to work this week. Normally we do those very rarely because tasty bread is hard to find and it costs so much.

Glutino products do contain soy, which is something I don’t like. I’m not crazy about eating or drinking a bunch of soy in general, but soy also has a tendency to irritate my stomach. I was very thankful this bread did not bother my stomach much at all! I don’t enjoy getting sick from my food so it was nice to have a sandwich lunch that didn’t bother me at all. (^.^)

If you are looking for a pretty good GF bread and are okay with soy, give Glutino Favorite Sandwich Bread a try! If you do try it, please let me know what you think!

cooltext177153714075149

Leave a Reply

