You And I Deserve To Be Respected

unknown-author-color-text-cream-paper-more-chances-disrespecting-you-8w5t

Today I am going to talk about respect. Respect is vital to our lives and it is important that those in your life and in your circle respect you, as you should respect them. When there is a lack of respect for one another, there is a serious issue that needs to be looked at.

The quote above blew me away today. I went online looking for a simple quote graphic with just the last sentence and I found this one as well. It really knocked me back because it took the last sentence so much further and really pushed me to think a lot harder on what I’ve been allowing my life. I am a giver. I care and I like to do what I can for others. Yet time and time again I’ve found myself on the end of a friendship that involves me being taken and taken and taken from, with very little to nothing put back in. I end up getting used or taken advantage of, and sucked dry emotionally.

The last few months have really been an eye opener for me regarding the kind of people I’ve had around me and how much they don’t fit well in my life anymore. One of the main things that has stood out to me is how poorly the majority of them have treated me. Yet I’ve kept these friendships going because I see good in these people. Reading that picture above today really hit me hard today because it is a clear explanation of why I’ve ended up stuck in bad friendships with people who don’t respect me.

Simply put – It’s happened because I allowed it to.

Yes, that is a huge responsibility taking statement right there! I have been treated poorly time and time again because I haven’t cut it off and walked away. I have stuck around, seeing the good in a person, and hoped they would change. Yet the evidence has been 100% showing that they will not!

With all the changes in my life and this new place I am in, I am ready to let go and move on. Respect is something I deeply value and I get so little of it from those I know right now. It’s extremely saddening to me that I am valued SO little by these people! They have made that VERY clear in their actions over the last months and years. And I know that as a human being I deserve better. We all do!

That means getting up the gumption to walk away and cut ties. That’s the hardest part for me. Can you believe that I actually feel GUILTY for cutting these awful people out of my life?! I do! I seriously feel like a bad person for giving up on them, despite the fact that I mean zero to them and they gave up on me a long time ago. I shouldn’t feel guilty and neither should you! People who treat you like garbage and bring negativity into your world need to GO!! No guilt! Open the door for healthy people who bring positivity and good into your world to come into your life instead!

I know I will feel bad after I remove these people. And then I will remind myself that there was a very good reason each person was removed and I will stop feeling bad. I deserve to have a circle of people who encourage me, support me, keep their word, bring positivity in my world, are there for me, and who want the best for me. I am happy waiting to find people like that as time goes on! I’d rather have zero friends and be in a good place. Because fake friends who treat you like garbage and disrespect you will only hurt you. Don’t keep them around until you find better friends. Who you surround yourself with will affect your life. It will affect what people you attract in life. You need to let the toxic people go.

I can hear Elsa singing in the background right now, “Let it go! Let it go!” This needs to be our mantra in life. If something is not good for you and it bring negativity and toxicity into your life, LET IT GO! You have to make space for the good in life and the people who bring good into your world. You have to say goodbye to old friends you’ve had for many, many years who eat away at your heart and soul. You have to put yourself and your well-being first.

You have to let them go from your life.

You can do this.

I will be waiting until after Christmas as to not be a totally heartless ass. Then my Facebook page gets a beautiful purging! I am so excited! It gives me SO much freedom and hope to remove people from my life who do not belong in it! I know I am opening the doors to much better people and situations! I am looking forward to a new year with a very, VERY small friends list on Facebook and in real life.

2017 will be the year of NEW!

You can make that happen for you too! (^.^) You are worth having good people around! ❤

cooltext177153714075149

Leave a Reply

