Healthy Changes for the New Year

img1483638132507

A new year means a host of people talking about changes they will make in life. This is nothing new, we all do this every year and  have for a very long time. A lot of people make negative comments about being sick of hearing, “New Year, New Me” from others. I don’t think it’s ever healthy to put folks down for wanting to better themselves. It doesn’t matter what time of year it is, someone deciding to do better is ALWAYS a good thing!

I began working on myself after having Little Divine. At the time I was a young single mom and my life was a mess. I made a lot of poor life decisions and it was time to start cleaning them up. I’ve spent the last 11 years doing exactly that. It didn’t happen overnight. There were many times where I would improve one area and leave another area still stuck in bad patterns. It wasn’t an all at once process. It took me a very long time to get to a place where I could fully look at myself and my life, and work on many things at once.

It also took a very long time to see all the areas where I had faults and be humble enough to work on them. Admitting you need work in an area…. or ten…. is not easy for a lot of people, myself included. I am where I am today, and who I am today, because I was committed to working hard on myself even when it hurt.

I am far from finished! Not even close. But I have come leaps and bounds from the scared girl with a new baby, completely unsure how to life and adult in her new situation as a mom. Today I am confident in who I am as a person. I’ve learned SO much in life and I try to keep my eyes open and be aware of things in my world. Daily I try to improve myself as a person so I can grow better and better, and be a better person for those I know! ❤

I have many goals for this new year! One of our family goals is to eat a little less junk. I’m sure that is on a lot of goal lists for the year for many folks. Our world is a very different place now. Cheap and easy junk is readily available at very low prices. We don’t farm our own food for meals anymore. We rely on stores and restaurants to feed us.

We are looking forward to when we can buy a home with some acreage in the mountains nearby. When we do, we fully intend to learn how to grow our own food. Mr. Divine and his friend already hunt yearly and bring home a huge amount of meat doing so. I’d like to see us be able to do more at home as well. This will be a huge help in the, “eating less junk” goal because you can’t grow a cake in the backyard!

In the mean time, we are starting with small changes. Starting small is the best way to meet goals because you don’t overwhelm yourself. Our goal is to eat less junk, not stop eating all unhealthy things altogether. That would be such a daunting task!! I started off our new goal with a simple shopping trip to Costco. Now, normally I shop for sales and deals on all thing, ESPECIALLY food, but this week I was just so tired and spent from all we had going on.

Costco sells in bulk and often the prices are better than buying smaller amounts in the grocery stores. This is not always the case, which is why I check my sales sheets weekly. I shop the best deals and work my meals plans around them so I can spend as little as possible on the best food possible.

My goal for this week was simple – buy some produce to replace junk snacks in lunches. That was it! I picked up apples, oranges, celery, bananas and carrots. Done! While this requires I cut up things for each lunch, it’s worth the small bit of extra work to know I’m giving my family healthier food. We had been getting small snacks prepackaged that were quick and easy to add to a lunch. I’m still sending those here and there with the healthier foods just to get them gone.

I don’t like wasting food so I don’t throw it in the trash. I’d rather we eat it and it be gone, then we can focus on the other stuff. Or even throw one in here and there as a rare treat. That way no one feels deprived and it makes it a much more special item in their lunches!

Small steps will help you reach your goals! Remember to revel and celebrate in each goal you reach, no matter how small! Every step you take and every goal you meet is amazing! You should be VERY proud of yourself for working hard for yourself and doing better for YOU! ❤

cooltext177153714075149

Leave a Reply

