Review – May Box From Birchbox

May was the 3rd Birchbox I’ve received. I had picked out one of my samples ahead of time because I had been wanting to try it since I saw the option to pick it. I left the rest a mystery because I like surprises sometimes!

I want to make a special note right at the top of this blog post because I am super unhappy with it – Birchbox no longer gives you points for reviewing products you received in your monthly box! 😦 I find this to be a poor move on their part. I am a blogger and I reviewed my products on their site as soon as I tried them. Low and behold, no points. Customer service said through email that they are no longer issuing points for reviews – only giving them when you purchase full size items.

I find this to be a cheap way to cut us off from gain points and Ace status. I diligently would try my products and review them so this seems like a pretty low move. Clearly they did it so you can only earn points by buying full size products. I would also like to note that you DO NOT get any points for your monthly subscription! That’s $10 worth of points you should get each month since they just want to base it off money you spend, right??

Poor move on your part Birchbox…. Now onto the reviews.

This month I received 6 samples. I will go through each one with you and tell you what I thought about each product, as well as where you can buy them from!

* As with any company you get samples from, ALWAYS CHECK AMAZON FOR CHEAPER PRICES BEFORE BUYING FULL SIZE FROM THE COMPANY! If price isn’t an issue for you, buy wherever you want. If you are looking to get the best bang for your buck, look on Amazon because they often have cheaper prices! I’ve listed the Amazon links for any products that are available there! *

First up was ModelCo Lip Enhancer Illusion Lip Liner. This one did not get used because the shade is hot pink. So pink that I could not do anything with it. I’m not even sure why they sent this to me as it’s not in the color shades I picked… The info on it looks good for those who can get a shade they use!

You can find it at Birchbox.
You can also find it at Amazon.

The next product was Davroe Volume Senses Shampoo. I have to say, this stuff works really well! I can’t find a lot of info for it and it wasn’t popping up on EWG.org/SkinDeep. I have no clue how harsh the chemicals are in it, but there were a few questionable things on the ingredient list. However, they are listed as vegan and cruelty free which is awesome! On top of that, no sulfates or parabens! I used this sample up because it cleaned my hair super well, no super harsh fake scent (yuck!), and my bad reactions to it.

You can find it at Birchbox.

This product goes hand in hand with the shampoo above, as it’s the matching  Davroe Volume Senses Conditioner. Again, no info for this one on EWG.org/SkinDeep. I enjoyed it as much as the shampoo, as it left my hair super soft and feeling great. Mild smell as well! If you like the shampoo, get this matching conditioner too!

You can find it at Birchbox.

The next product I received was Vita Liberta Fabulous Self-Tanning Gradual lotion. This was another one that didn’t get tried. Again, I’m not sure why I was sent this. In the options of choosing one of your samples I skipped this one and chose something else so I was very surprised to see this in my box. The major reason I didn’t try it was because the instruction said to apply with a tanning cream mitt. This means that you need something over your hand to prevent staining. And since Birchbox didn’t send one with it, I felt like it wasn’t the best sample to send out without all the tools to use it.  I’m not sure how it works so if you’ve tried it feel free to comment below with your experience!

You can find it at Birchbox.
You can also find it on Amazon.

The next product I tried was R+Co High Dive Moisture + Shine Crème. This cream has a very strong perfume scent. Not as bad as some products, but enough to notice it. I was able to use it despite it’s strong smell, but I am not a fan of the scent and I won’t be purchasing it in the future. I used it after showers on the ends of my hair. I found it to give my hair some extra softness on the ends. I didn’t find it helped with frizz or stray fly away hairs though. It didn’t really seem to keep them down or in control for very long.

You can find it at Birchbox.
You can also find it at Amazon.

The last product in my May box was the one I picked out to for sure be sent to me. I checked the info on each of the options and I REALLY wanted to try this one! When I got it, I applied it to bare skin and thought I just looked super shiny. I wasn’t very impressed. However – when I applied a bit of cover up and then my mineral make up over it, I ended up with this dewy glowing look that I was VERY impressed by! The end result looked wonderful! My skin didn’t feel super heavy or greasy from it either. No major breakouts either. Keep in mind I wash my face nightly and thoroughly to keep my skin clean and healthy. I would definitely recommend this for folks who want that dew kissed glowy look!

You can find it at Birchbox.
You can also find it at Amazon.

My May Birchbox was a combo of hits and misses – with it feeling like a lot more misses than hits this time…. I will see what my June box has to offer and go from there. I’ve been shopping around just in case. In the next few weeks I will review the specialty box I ordered as well as my customer service experience with it! It will be an informative post for sure…

I’m hoping June’s Birchbox is full of fun stuff that impresses me a ton. I’ve been looking at other companies that do full size products because I like that might be more enjoyable than small sample packs that don’t even line up with your beauty profile.

As always, new subscribers get a FREE item with their first box! If you’d like to sign up CLICK HERE to get started! Remember, you can cancel at any time! And it’s only $10 per month, free shipping!

Leave a comment below letting me know what you thought about your May Birchbox!

Leave a Reply

