Review – August 2017 Birchbox

Today I am reviewing the August 2017 box from Birchbox! I like to take my time with each box and try out the products for a few weeks to really get a good opinion on them. Birchbox is a monthly subscription box. Each month you receive a random selection of hair, skin and beauty products. Here’s what I thought of this month’s box!

*AS A REMINDER, YOU CAN OFTEN FIND THESE PRODUCTS CHEAPER ON OTHER SITES. I HAVE AMAZON PRIME SO I SAVE A BUNCH OF MONEY AND DON’T PAY SHIPPING BY ORDERING THROUGH AMAZON. EBAY IS ANOTHER SITE TO CHECK AS THEY HAVE LISTINGS THAT CHANGE DAILY.*

This month I received 5 samples. To start with I received Amika Bombshell Blowout spray in a 1 fl oz sample size. I liked the scent of this hair product which wasn’t too strong or perfumed. I didn’t see an amazingly huge difference while using it when it came to volume. I do like that it protects against heat so I sprayed it on before blow-drying it. The scent left my hair smelling very nice for the day as well.

You can find it at Birchbox.
You can also find it on Amazon.

My second product was Balance Me Congested Skin Serum in a .24 fl oz size sample. Now, I love Balance Me’s Instant Life Primer. I bought it in full size because I loved what it did for my skin so much. However, I could not stand the smell of this product. I had to wash it off my face because it was bothering me so much. I think Balance Me makes great quality products, but I could not deal with the scent of this one.

You can find it at Birchbox.
You can also find it on Amazon.

Next up is Coastal Scents Blush & Bronzer Palette in a 2 pack sample size. I loved this set! It has one bronzer and one blush included in it. I found them to work really well when I mixed a bit of both together. I ended up with a nice looking color without it looking too gaudy or too faint. It doesn’t have a brush included so I packed a mini blush brush with me to use with this set on the go. I really like the colors in it and I would definitely considering buying the full size set!

You can find it at Birchbox.
You can also find it on Amazon.

My fourth item was Clarins Instant Light Lip Comfort Oil in a .09 fl oz sample size. I loved this stuff! I received the mint shade and it not only smells good, but it makes my lips feel like they are getting a mini spa treatment. I like to apply it in the evening when I’m not wearing lipstick or gloss, or I’ll put it on under my lipgloss before I head out for the day. It is thick but not sticky or goopy. It’s a great way to pamper your lips after abusing them with lip makeup!

You can find it at Birchbox.
You can also find it on Amazon in: Raspberry – Honey – Mint – Honey Glam – Tangerine – Red Berry – and a Lip Oil Trio Set which I think looks awesome to try!

My last product was Avene Cleanance Cleansing Gel in a .06 fl oz sample size. I liked this sample as well! I found that it cleans well without being harsh on my skin. It doesn’t have an over-perfumed or make me break out. I like to use it in the morning before I start my day as I feel it gives my skin a gentler cleansing. In the mornings I am just washing to remove sweat and oil from sleeping so I don’t need a harsh cleanser. This product is perfect for my mornings! I would definitely recommend it!

You can find it at Birchbox.
You can also find it on Amazon.

Other than the one cream with a scent that I couldn’t deal with, my August box was actually pretty good! I liked my products and 3 out of the 5 are products I would buy full size. (^.^) What did you think of your August box? You can join in on Birchbox’s monthly subscription for only $10 a month by clicking HERE and signing up! Each month they give you a free gift when you sign up as well!

Don’t forget to check out my Esty Shoppe featuring unique and one of a kind items! Dragon Fire Rose

Leave a Reply

